Australian Access Federation

You are here: Home Corpora Corpus of Oz Early English 4-005 (Raw)

4-005 (Raw)

Item metadata
author,male,Dunne, Christopher,48 addressee,male
Word Count :
Plaint Text :
Private Written
Private Correspondence
Fitzpatrick, 1994
Document metadata

4-005-raw.txt — 2 KB

File contents

Toowoomba May 19th. 1877 
My dear Michael 
I received your letter in November last and would have answered it before this only that I have been greatly put about threw Sickness both myself and family. I dare Say you will be Surprised to think I am Still living when I tell you my Complaint was Cholera and in a Short time after they Children had Scarlet feavor. [333] I am happy to Say that we are all quite recovered and gives thanks to God for his Kind mercy to us. 
I am glad to find My Mother enjoyed good health and Still hope that She Continues to enjoy that blessing. I was verry Sorry to hear of Sisters Julia's death May the Lord have mercy on her Soul. I onley hope we may be as happy as She is. 
I have written to you Some time past but I Can See by your letter that you did not get it. I have to tell you now that we have an increace in the family and has Called him after my Brother John and must tell you that you are his Godfather. He is now two years. I am Send one of his portraits which was taken when he was five months old. 
Now I must enquire how my Brothers and Sisters are and all frends and wishes to be Kindly remembered to them. I hope Bridget Mc.Donnell is proffessed before this time. May the Great God Strenthen her in the duties toards him. I wish to be Kindly remembered to her and hopes that She will think of me in her prayers. I am Still in the Same possition. I have nothing to mention that would be in anyway interesting to[?] you. Be Sure and write Soon and let me Know how are all frends. Mrs. Dunne and Children joins me in Kind love to Mother Brothers and Sisters and not forgetting yourself. 
I remain Your Affectionate Brother 
Christopher Dunne 
Dear Michael you would do me a great favor if you would let me Know my age next time you write. 
I remain yours & Christopher Dunne I wish I Could get Some Home frise [frieze]. It is very much thought of here and very hard to be got. 
CD Mr. Michael Dunne 
Norbinstown Kells, Co. Meath, Ireland, Via Brindisi